We at ESU Scotland were very excited at being given the opportunity to host the last World Members’ Conference in Edinburgh in September 2008. Over 250 delegates from 31 countries attended.

 ESU World 2008

This is the oldest and most prestigious debating intervarsity competition in Europe, featuring over one hundred and fifty teams. Former winners include the late Donald Dewar, The Rt Hon Charles Kennedy MP, Bob Marshall-Andrews MP, The Rt. Hon the Lord Hunt of Wirral, Professor Anthony Clare, and the late Labour leader, John Smith, in whose honour the competition was renamed in 1995.

We are delighted that Baillie Gifford, the Edinburgh-based investment managers, have continued their sponsorship of the Scottish and English legs of the 2013 Mace, along with the International Final. Their continued support is greatly appreciated and the relationship between Bailie Gifford and the ESU grows stronger and deeper each year.

The Scottish section of the ESU John Smith Memorial Mace is organised by ESU Scotland. Scottish universities have an enviable record in this competition, with twenty victories in the 50 years of the competition. Fifteen of these victories were achieved by the Glasgow University Union. No other university has won more than six times.

This year's John Smith Memorial Mace was held at the Royal Society of Edinburgh, under the joint stewardship of staff of the ESU at Dartmouth House and ESU Scotland. The event was attended by many dignitaries, including Baroness Elizabeth Smith, after whose late husband the competition is named.

2013 Mace

The most recent Scottish Mace competition was won by University of St Andrews pair Ben Adams and Ruairidh Macintosh, who as with 2012, were beaten by an Irish team, this time from Trinity College Dublin, in the John Smith Memorial Mace at the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

2012 Mace

2012 saw the Scottish Mace title return to Glasgow University Union for the first time in 5 years as John McKee and Ross Mitchell became Scottish champions, although they could not overcome University College Dublin in the John Smith Memorial Mace.

2011 Mace

The 2011 Scottish Mace, after fierce competition, went to Benjamin Lau Wei Yii and Marlena Valles from Edinburgh University.

2010 Mace

The Scottish Champions in 2010 were Sebastian Osborn and Paul Brown of Edinburgh University, who then went on to win the International Final.

2009 Mace

The Scottish Champions in 2009 were Daniel Berman and Tom Cahn of the University of St. Andrews. The 2009 International Final took place at The Signet Library, Edinburgh and was won by Jonathan Leader-Maynard and Alex Worsnip of The Oxford Union Society.

© ESU Scotland 2008. All rights reserved